As you know, to legally drive in Maryland, you must have a valid driver’s license. It is illegal to operate a motor vehicle either before receiving your driver’s license or after receiving a driver’s license suspension/revocation. Unfortunately, many people make this mistake, and if you are one of them and were arrested for driving without a license, you need an experienced Maryland criminal defense attorney on your side. Continue reading and contact The Law Offices of Debra A. Saltz to learn more about the consequences of these charges and how we can help you fight them. Here are some of the questions you may have:
What happens if I am caught driving without a license in Maryland?
If you have not yet received your driver’s license and you were pulled over by law enforcement, you can expect to face a wide array of various serious penalties, including the following:
- First offense: You will face up to 60 days of incarceration and a potential $500 fine.
- Second offense: You will face up to one year of incarceration and a potential $500 fine.
Additionally, you can expect to face up to five points on your driving record, which can make it more difficult for you to apply for a driver’s license in the future.
What happens if I am caught driving with a suspended or revoked license in Maryland?
Those who are allegedly caught driving with a suspended or revoked license can expect to face even harsher penalties, as they have already committed at least one serious motor vehicle offense in the past. Common reasons people receive license suspensions are DWIs, reckless driving tickets, moving violations, and more. If you are caught driving with a suspended license, you will most likely go to jail for at least one year and face a potential $1,000 fine. If you are caught doing so for the second time, you will face up to two years of incarceration, a high fine, and anywhere between 3 and 12 points on your driving record.
If you did not have your driver’s license seized during your initial suspension and you display it upon being pulled over while driving with a suspended license, you will face additional penalties, including a potential $500 fine and up to two months of incarceration. If you do so for a second time, you will face up to three years of incarceration and a potential $2,500 fine. For any further questions, simply give our experienced legal team a call today. We are here to help.
Contact our experienced Maryland firm
The Law Offices of Debra A. Saltz has decades of experience representing clients in Anne Arundel County and Howard County, Maryland who need legal assistance for criminal defense or personal injury matters. Contact the Law Offices of Debra A. Saltz today to discuss your case.