Skip to content

Each St. Patrick’s Day, we gather at local restaurants to enjoy each other’s presence in a festive atmosphere. This is especially true as we emerge from a long, dark winter. As is well known, it is not rare for people to celebrate with alcoholic drinks on St. Patrick’s Day. Unfortunately, more people are charged with DUIs each St. Patrick’s Day than on most other days of the year, and if you happen to be one of them, you need an experienced Maryland traffic defense attorney working on your behalf. Our firm can help fight every facet of your DUI charges. The following are some of the questions you may be asking about DUIs in Maryland:

What are the consequences of a first-offense DWI/DUI in Maryland?

To be charged with a DUI, you usually have to be caught driving with a BAC of .08% or higher. Nonetheless, you can also face a DWI charge if your driving is impaired by alcohol with a blood alcohol content of .07%. You will face the following consequences for a first-offense DWI/DUI:

  • Up to 60 days in jail for a DWI or up to one year in jail for a DUI
  • A maximum $500 fine for a DWI or a maximum $1000 file for a DUI
  • 8 points on your driver’s license for a DWI, 12 points for a DUI

Regardless of whether you submitted to a breath test, you will face a suspension of your license for anywhere from 90 days to one year. This condition may be modified by your admission in the ignition interlock program.

What are the consequences for a second DUI conviction in Maryland?

Those charged with a second DUI in Maryland will most likely be treated as repeat offenders by the courts, meaning they will face even harsher penalties. In Maryland, the penalties for a second-offense DUI include the following:

  • Maximum two years of incarceration
  • A $2,000 fine
  • 12 points on your driver’s license
  • A potential license suspension
  • Ignition interlock device requirement

What are the consequences of a third DUI in Maryland?

You can expect the following penalties for a third DUI:

  • Maximum 5 years of incarceration
  • Court-ordered alcohol abuse assessment program
  • A years-long driver’s license suspension
  • A $5,000 fine
  • Ignition interlock device requirement

A DUI conviction can drastically impair a person’s life. That is why you should never face DUI charges on your own. Reach out to an experienced Maryland criminal and traffic defense attorney at our firm today.

Contact our experienced Maryland firm

The Law Offices of Debra A. Saltz has decades of experience representing clients in Anne Arundel County and Howard County, Maryland who need legal assistance for criminal and traffic defense or personal injury matters. Contact the Law Offices of Debra A. Saltz today to discuss your case.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

 
Avoiding Social Media During the Personal Injury Claims Process

One of the most common mistakes the wrongly injured make is using social media during the claims process. To learn…

Read More
 
Can You Go To Jail for a DUI in Maryland?

Those who get behind the wheel of a motor vehicle have an obligation to operate it with care. Driving while…

Read More
 
How Speeding Contributes to Auto Accidents in Maryland

Speed limits are in place for a reason, and when drivers exceed the speed limit, they endanger themselves and all…

Read More

We Can Help

Contact Us for Your Initial Case Evaluation