Skip to content
Howard County DUI/DWI Attorney

DUI/DWI Attorney in Ellicott City, Maryland

Being charged with driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol is a serious matter across the country. Maryland is no exception. The state holds those who drive while intoxicated accountable for their actions to the fullest extent of the law. If you are facing charges of driving under the influence, it is important that you contact an experienced criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. At the Law Offices of Debra A. Saltz, we can look for all possible defenses on your behalf when you are facing serious charges. Contact us today for quality criminal defense services.

Consequences of a DWI

The state of Maryland has two categories of drunk driving crimes. A Driving While Intoxicated charge is administered to those with a blood alcohol content between 0.07 and 0.08 percent. Though the consequences are less severer than those of a DUI, they are still significant. The penalties for a first DWI conviction include the following:

  • A fine of up to $500
  • Up to two months in jail
  • Eight points on your driver’s license

A second DWI conviction results in the following penalties:

  • A fine of up to $500
  • A maximum of 1 year in jail
  • Eight points on your driver’s license

What are the consequences of a DUI conviction?

If you are caught driving with a blood alcohol content of 0.08 percent or higher, you can face charges of Driving Under the Influence. The penalties that you will face if you are charged with driving under the influence of alcohol are severe. Of course, there are a lot of factors that must be taken into consideration when determining your sentence. The primary consideration is the number of prior DUI convictions you have on your record.

The penalties for a first offense DUI conviction are as follows:

  • A fine of $1,000
  • A maximum of one year in jail
  • 12 points on your driver’s license

If you have been charged with a second DUI offense, the penalties are more severe and include the following:

  • A fine of up to $2,000
  • Jail time for a minimum of five days and a maximum of two years
  • 12 points on your driver’s license

If you have been found guilty of a third DUI, you can face up to 3 years in jail and a fine of up to $3,000.

It is important to be aware that if you have multiple DUI convictions within a five-year time span, you will also face a mandatory license suspension, participation in the Ignition Interlock Program, and participation in an alcohol abuse assessment program.

Will I lose my license?

Many people are concerned about losing their driving privileges after a DUI/DWI arrest. License suspension in DUI and DWI cases is first dependent on the results of your breath test or whether you refused to take a breath test at all. You can also be suspended if you are convicted of either offense.

Contact a Maryland DUI/DWI Defense Attorney

If you have been charged with either a DWI or a DUI in the state of Maryland, it is critical that you speak with an attorney. The Law Offices of Debra A. Saltz has the experience it takes to look for all possible defenses in your case in an effort to have your charges reduced or dismissed. We understand that these penalties can carry long-term burdens. Contact the Law Offices of Debra A. Saltz today for strong criminal defense.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

 
What to Do After a Bus or Train Station Accident in Maryland

There are many people who use public transportation in Maryland every day. The Maryland Transportation Administration (MTA) provides buses and…

Read More
 
What Do I Need to Know About Ignition Interlock Devices in Maryland?

When a person is arrested and charged with a DUI/DWI in Maryland, it is a very serious offense that can…

Read More
 
What are Field Sobriety Tests in Maryland?

When a driver is pulled over by law enforcement for suspected drinking and driving, they may be asked to step…

Read More

We Can Help

Contact Us for Your Initial Case Evaluation