Skip to content

As you know, it is illegal to drive while under the influence of alcohol in any state. However, when someone is under the age of 21 and they are charged with an DWI or DUI, they will face a unique set of penalties that may affect their lives for years to come. Please continue reading and speak with our knowledgeable Maryland criminal defense attorney to learn more about underage DWI/DUIs in Maryland and how our firm can help if you’ve been charged with one. Here are some of the questions you may have:

What is Maryland’s zero-tolerance policy?

In the state of Maryland, those over the age of 21 can be charged with a DUI if they’ve been caught operating a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration of .07% or higher. That being said, if you are under the age of 21, you are subject to Maryland’s zero-tolerance policy, which essentially states that if you are caught with a blood alcohol concentration of just .02% or higher, you may receive an alcohol-related charge. Our firm is here to fight your charges, every step of the way.

What happens if I am charged with an underage DUI in Maryland?

If you are caught driving while under the influence while under the age of 21 in Maryland, you will face a wide array of penalties. If you are under the age of 18, your case will most likely be handled in juvenile court. However, if you are over the age of 18 but under the age of 21, your case will be heard in criminal court. The penalties you may face for an underage DUI include up to one year in jail, 12 points on your license, and a potential $1,000 fine. That being said, if you are charged with a DWI, you may face up to 60 days of jail time, 8 points on your license, and a potential $500 fine. For a first offense, you will most likely not go to jail, though it is still a possibility. You will also most likely have to install the ignition interlock device in your vehicle for six months and face a charge of violating an alcohol restriction.

As you can tell, the various consequences you may face for a DUI in Maryland are severe, which is why you cannot afford to proceed without an experienced Maryland criminal defense attorney on your side.

Contact our experienced Maryland firm

The Law Offices of Debra A. Saltz has decades of experience representing clients in Anne Arundel County and Howard County, Maryland who need legal assistance for criminal defense or personal injury matters. Contact the Law Offices of Debra A. Saltz today to discuss your case.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

 
Domestic Violence Charges in Maryland | What You Should Know

A domestic violence charge can seriously destroy a person’s reputation. Unfortunately, we live in a time where untrue domestic violence…

Read More
 
What You Should Know About Parking Lot Accidents in Maryland

Pulling into and out of parking lots is a rather mundane part of our daily lives. Because of this, we…

Read More
 
What You Should Know About Pedestrian Accidents in Maryland

Pedestrian accidents are among the most devastating types of accidents. Unfortunately, they are far from uncommon. If you’ve been injured…

Read More

We Can Help

Contact Us for Your Initial Case Evaluation