Skip to content

The Fourth of July is a time of reflection, and also celebration. Oftentimes, people will have a drink or two with their friends and families to celebrate the holiday, and while this is completely fine, the unfortunate reality is that many people make the mistake of driving afterward. Fourth of July weekend is one of the most significant DUI weekends of the year, and if you were charged with a DUI this past Fourth of July, you should strongly consider speaking with a knowledgeable Maryland criminal defense attorney as soon as you can. Here are some of the questions you may have regarding DUIs in Maryland:

What are the penalties for a first-offense DWI/DUI in Maryland?

If you are caught driving while impaired by alcohol with a blood alcohol content of .07% or higher, you will most likely face a DWI. Unfortunately, even if this is only your first offense, you will face a wide variety of potential penalties, including the following:

  • Up to 60 days of incarceration
  • Up to 8 points on your driver’s license
  • A $500 fine

If you are caught driving while under the influence of alcohol with a blood alcohol content of .08% or higher, you will most likely face a DUI. Unfortunately, even if this is only your first offense, you will face a wide variety of potential penalties, including the following:

  • Up to one year of incarceration
  • Up to 12 points on your driver’s license
  • A $1,000 fine
  • You may lose your driver’s license
  • You may have to install and use the ignition interlock device on your vehicle, at your own cost

What are the penalties for a second-offense DUI in Maryland?

For a second DUI, you can expect to face even harsher consequences that may impact your life for years into the future. Some of the potential penalties for a second-offense DUI in Maryland are as follows:

  • Up to 2 years of incarceration
  • Up to 12 points on your driver’s license
  • A potential $2,000 fine
  • You will most likely lose your driver’s license for an extended period of time
  • You will most likely have to install and use the ignition interlock device in your vehicle, at your own cost

What are the penalties for a third-offense DUI in Maryland?

If this is your third DUI, you can expect to face very serious penalties that will drastically alter the course of your life. Some of the penalties for a third-offense DUI in Maryland are as follows:

  • A potential $5,000 fine
  • Up to 5 years of incarceration
  • A significant driver’s license suspension
  • You will have to install and use the ignition interlock device in your vehicle, at your own cost
  • You will have to participate in an alcohol abuse assessment program

If you are currently facing DUI charges in Maryland, you must speak with a knowledgeable Maryland criminal defense attorney as soon as you can. Our firm is ready to help.

Contact our experienced Maryland firm

The Law Offices of Debra A. Saltz has decades of experience representing clients in Anne Arundel County and Howard County, Maryland who need legal assistance for criminal defense or personal injury matters. Contact the Law Offices of Debra A. Saltz today to discuss your case.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

 
Have You Been Charged With a Computer Crime in Maryland? Here’s What You Should Know.

As you know, computer crime is becoming increasingly more prevalent in the digital age, which is why there are various…

Read More
 
Restaurant Accidents in Maryland | What You Need to Know

Many people throughout the state of Maryland enjoy dining with their friends and family. Though these dinners are usually pleasant,…

Read More
 
What You Need to Know About Fourth of July DUIs in Maryland

The Fourth of July is a time of reflection, and also celebration. Oftentimes, people will have a drink or two…

Read More

We Can Help

Contact Us for Your Initial Case Evaluation