All individuals in Maryland are required to have a valid driver’s license to operate an automobile. In order to become licensed, the individual must go through proper testing so the state is assured they can drive in accordance with the rules of the road. If they fail to abide by these rules, it is possible for the driver to have their license suspended or revoked. In the state of Maryland, it is illegal for a person to drive without a license or if their license has been suspended or revoked. Continue reading below to learn more about the consequences of these actions and contact an experienced Maryland traffic violations attorney for assistance with your case.
What are the Penalties of Driving Without a License?
It is illegal for anyone to operate a vehicle without the proper license to do so. This ensures everyone on the road knows the rules and how to drive safely so they do not cause harm to others. If a person chooses to drive while unlicensed and is pulled over by law enforcement, they can be charged with driving without a license. This can result in the following consequences, depending on the circumstances of the offense:
- First offense: They may be subject to a fine of up to $500 and a maximum of 60 days in jail.
- Second offense: They may face a fine up to $500 and up to one year in jail.
It is important to note that driving without a license can also result in five points on the individual’s driving record, making it difficult to apply for a license in the future.
What are the Penalties of Driving With a Suspended or Revoked License?
Individuals who have a license but choose to violate the rules of the road may have their license suspended or revoked. This may be the case if they obtain too many points on their record for moving violations, drive under the influence of drugs or alcohol, drive recklessly, and more. When this happens, it means they are unable to drive until the license is reinstated. However, if they choose to ignore this law and continue to drive, they can face certain consequences. This can include both jail and fines of up to one year and/or $1,000. A second offense can result in a maximum of two years in jail. They can also receive from 3 to 12 points on their driving record.
Drivers who have their license suspended or revoked usually have the physical license seized. However, in the event that they still have the license and display it when they are pulled over, this can result in additional criminal penalties. First offenses can result in a fine up to $500 and a maximum of two months in jail. Second offenses can result in up to three years in jail and a maximum $2,500 fine.
Contact our Firm
The Law Offices of Debra A. Saltz has decades of experience representing clients in Anne Arundel County and Howard County, Maryland who need legal assistance for criminal defense or personal injury matters. Contact the Law Offices of Debra A. Saltz today to discuss your case.