Skip to content

All drivers have a legal obligation to operate their vehicles safely when they are issued a driver’s license. There are many rules of the road, one being that no one can drive while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. If drivers choose to do so anyway, they can face serious consequences as a result of their actions. The state of Maryland categorizes drunk and/or drug driving in two ways: driving while impaired or driving under the influence. Law enforcement and the courts in the state take these crimes very seriously. Continue reading below to learn more and contact an experienced Maryland attorney for assistance with your case. 

What are the Consequences of a DWI?

When a driver is pulled over under the suspicion of impaired driving, law enforcement can administer a test to determine their blood alcohol concentration (BAC). If the driver has a BAC between 0.07% and 0.08%, they can be charged with Driving While Impaired (DWI). Those subject to these charges may face the following consequences:

  • A fine up to $500
  • Up to 60 days in jail
  • Eight points on their driver’s license

If the driver is convicted of a DWI for the second time, they may face the following consequences:

  • A fine up to $500
  • A maximum of one year in jail
  • Eight points on their driver’s license

What are the Consequences of a DUI?

It is important to note that Driving Under the Influence (DUI) is a separate charge than a DWI. When a driver has a BAC of 0.08% or higher, they can be charged with DUI. First-time offenders can face the following consequences as a result:

  • A fine of $1000
  • A maximum of one year in jail
  • 12 points on their driver’s license

If the driver is charged with a second DUI offense, they can face more severe consequences. This can include:

  • A fine up to $2000
  • Jail time for a minimum of five days and a maximum of two years
  • 12 points on their driver’s license

Drivers who are charged with a DUI for a third time in the state of Maryland may face up to 5 years in jail in addition to a maximum fine of $5000. Drivers who are charged with a DUI for the fourth time in the State of Maryland may face up to 10 years in jail in addition to a maximum fine of $10,000.

There are also increased penalties if you are transporting a minor and a separate charge for refusal to take a breath test.

Contact our Firm

The Law Offices of Debra A. Saltz has decades of experience representing clients in Howard County and Anne Arundel County, Maryland who have been charged with a crime. If you are facing criminal charges, let our firm explore all possible defenses and fight to protect your future. Contact the Law Offices of Debra A. Saltz today to discuss your case.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

 
Can an Underage Driver be Charged With a DUI in Maryland?

In the state of Maryland, there are very strict laws pertaining to driving while under the influence of drugs or…

Read More
 
Are Helmets Required While Riding a Motorcycle in Maryland?

While motorcycles are often exciting methods of transportation for many, they can also be very dangerous. This is because they…

Read More
 
What do I Need to Know About Maryland DUI/DWI Consequences?

All drivers have a legal obligation to operate their vehicles safely when they are issued a driver’s license. There are…

Read More

We Can Help

Contact Us for Your Initial Case Evaluation