In order for a person to legally operate an automobile, they are required to have a driver’s license. Receiving a driver’s license means the individual went through the proper channels and testing to learn how to drive. This is important so that they know the rules of the road and operate the vehicle safely to avoid causing an accident. In the state of Maryland, it is illegal for an individual to drive a vehicle if they do not have a valid driver’s license. Those who drive without a valid license may face harsh consequences as a result. If you are found driving without a license, it is important to retain the services of an experienced attorney to help your case.
Driving Without a License
A person needs a driver’s license to legally operate a vehicle. This ensures that drivers are aware of the rules of the road and know how to follow them safely. If an unlicensed driver is pulled over by a law enforcement officer, they can be charged with Driving Without a License. This can result in certain consequences depending on the circumstances surrounding the situation.
For a first-time offender, they may be subject to a fine of up to $500 and a maximum of 60 days in jail. If a driver is found without a license for a second time, they may face a fine up to $500 and up to one year in jail. In addition to this, unlicensed driving can add five points to the individual’s driving record. This can make it difficult to apply for a license in the future.
Driving While Suspended or Revoked
When a person has a license, they are required to follow the rules of the road. This means they must drive safely and give the road their undivided attention. If a driver is in violation of a traffic law, it is possible to have their license suspended or revoked. This may happen if a driver is reckless, obtains too many points for moving violations, or drives under the influence of drugs or alcohol. When a license is suspended or revoked, the individual is no longer legally able to operate a vehicle. If they choose to disregard this and drive anyway, they may face a series of consequences.
If a person drives while their driving privilege is suspended or revoked, they can receive both jail and fines of up to one year and/or $1,000. A second offense can result in a fine up to $1,000 and a maximum or two years in jail. In addition to this, the individual can receive from 3 to 12 points on their driving record.
When a person’s license is suspended or revoked, it is usually seized. However, if a driver displays a suspended or revoked license when they are pulled over, it is important to know that they can face criminal penalties. A first offense can result in a fine of up to $500 and a maximum of two months in jail. A second-time offender can see up to three years in jail and a maximum $2,500 fine.
Contact our Firm
The Law Offices of Debra A. Saltz has decades of experience representing clients in Howard County, Maryland who have been charged with a crime. If you are facing criminal charges, let our firm explore all possible defenses and fight to protect your future. We also represent individuals who have been injured by the negligence of another party. Contact the Law Offices of Debra A. Saltz today to discuss your case.