In recent times, the nation’s attitude towards marijuana has taken a slightly more lax stance, and in many states across the country, the drug is entirely legal for recreational use. However, in Maryland, this is not the case. Though small amounts of possession of the drug have been decriminalized, if you are caught in possession of larger quantities, or you are caught selling the drug, you may face a wide array of penalties. Read on and reach out to our Maryland criminal defense attorney to learn more about the marijuana laws in Maryland and how our firm can help if you’ve been accused of violating them. Here are some of the questions you may have:
What happens if I am charged with marijuana possession in Maryland?
All those who are caught in the possession of less than 10 grams of marijuana will no longer face criminal charges in Maryland. Instead, they will simply face a civil offense with a $100 fine. However, if you are someone who is charged with the possession of at least 10 grams of marijuana (with no evidence of having the intent to sell the drug), you may face a misdemeanor crime that entails a potential $1,000 fine and up to 6 months of incarceration.
What happens if I am charged with selling marijuana in Maryland?
As you can imagine, charges for possession with the intent to distribute, or distribution of marijuana charges often warrant severer consequences. Depending on the amount of marijuana you were allegedly caught with and the circumstances of your arrest, you will most likely face the following penalties:
- Less than 50 lbs: If you are caught with less than 50 pounds of marijuana, you will face a potential $15,000 fine and up to 5 years in jail.
- Greater than 50 lbs: If you are caught with more than 50 pounds of marijuana, you will face a minimum 5-year jail sentence and a potential $15,000 fine.
- Greater than 50 lbs as a drug kingpin: If you are facing this charge, you will most likely face anywhere between 20-40 years of incarceration, as well as a potential $1,000,000 fine.
- If you are caught selling marijuana in a school vehicle or within 1000 feet of a school, you will most likely face up to 20 years of incarceration and a potential $20,000 fine.
For any further questions, please do not hesitate to speak with our knowledgeable Maryland criminal defense attorney today. Our firm is here to help.
Contact our experienced Maryland firm
The Law Offices of Debra A. Saltz has decades of experience representing clients in Anne Arundel County and Howard County, Maryland who need legal assistance for criminal defense or personal injury matters. Contact the Law Offices of Debra A. Saltz today to discuss your case.