The legal drinking age in the United States is 21 years old. In the state of Maryland, it is considered breaking the law if an underage person purchases, possesses, or consumes alcohol. Minors still try to get around the law by using fake identification, also known as fake IDs. These are often used to buy alcohol, and to seek admission into many bars or venues. While many do not think of it as such, using a fake identification is a serious offense and can lead to certain penalties.
What is Considered Fake Identification?
People are issued identification cards to determine their identity. It states their name and age as well as more information regarding who they are. When people make or use fake identifications, it is with the intention to lie about who they are or their age. Underage people can use fake, manufactured, or altered identifications. Sometimes, they even use another person’s ID as their own. It is illegal in the state of Maryland to use an ID that is fake, has incorrect information on it, or belongs to someone else. Doing so can result in fake ID charges and serious consequences.
Penalties of Using a Fake ID
If a person is under the legal drinking age and has bought, possessed, or consumed alcohol, they can face a variety of legal consequences. This can include a $500 fine for their first offense and a $1000 for their second or subsequent offense.
Individuals under the age of 21 in possession of a fake ID can face the following consequences:
- A fine of up to $500
- Up to two months in jail or up to six months in jail depending on the actual charge
- 12 points on the driver’s license
- The suspension or revocation of their driver’s license
If a person is found selling fake IDs to an underage person, they can face the following penalties:
- A fine of up to $2000 for every fake ID sold
- Up to 2 years in jail for every fake ID sold
- The offender can be subject to prosecution for violating federal laws
If a person over the age of 21 knowingly provides a minor with alcohol, they can face:
- A fine up to $2500 for the first violation
- A fine of up to $5000 for a second or subsequent offense
- Additional penalties if the person knew or should have known that the person under 21 intended to drive a motor vehicle after consuming alcohol
Contact our Firm
The Law Offices of Debra A. Saltz has decades of experience representing clients in Howard County, Maryland who have been charged with a crime. If you are facing criminal charges, let our firm explore all possible defenses and fight to protect your future. Contact the Law Offices of Debra A. Saltz today to discuss your case.