Skip to content

Anyone who gets behind the wheel of a vehicle has an obligation to operate it safely. This involves paying attention to the road and being fully in control of your capacities. It is illegal for anyone in the state of Maryland to drive while they are under the influence of drugs or alcohol. Law enforcement and courts within the state take the offense very seriously and work to hold offenders accountable for their actions with certain penalties. Recent changes in the law have made consequences harsher for offenders. Maryland has two categories of drunk driving crimes: a DWI or DUI. Individuals facing a DWI or DUI charge should retain the services of an experienced attorney for assistance with their case.

Consequences of a DWI

When a driver is pulled over under the suspicion of drinking and driving, they can be administered a test to determine their blood alcohol concentration (BAC). Individuals with a BAC between 0.07% and 0.08% can be charged with Driving While Impaired (DWI). If charged with a DWI in the state of Maryland for the first time, offenders may face the following penalties:

  • A fine up to $500
  • Up to 60 days in jail
  • Eight points on their driver’s license

If convicted for a second offense, offenders may face the following penalties:

  • A fine up to $500
  • A maximum of one year in jail
  • Eight points on their driver’s license

Consequences of a DUI

Differently from a DWI charge, a driver who is found with a BAC of 0.08% or higher may face charges of Driving Under the Influence (DUI). The penalties for this charge can be severe. If charged with a DUI for the first time, an individual may be subject to the following:

  • A fine of $1000
  • A maximum of one year in jail
  • 12 points on their driver’s license

If an individual is charged with a second DUI offense, the penalties can worsen. This can include:

  • A fine up to $2000
  • Jail time for a minimum of five days and a maximum of two years
  • 12 points on their driver’s license

Those who are guilty of a third DUI offense in the state of Maryland may be subject to up to 3 years in jail as well as a fine up to $3000.

Can I Lose My License?

After being charged with a DWI or DUI, people often have many concerns about the state of their driver’s license. Usually, their biggest concern is whether or not they can lose their driving privilege. It is important to know that for either a DWI or DUI charge, drivers may have their license suspended. This is dependent upon the results of their breath test. If a driver refused to take a breath test, their license can be suspended as well. 

Contact our Firm

The Law Offices of Debra A. Saltz has decades of experience representing clients in Howard County and Anne Arundel County, Maryland who have been charged with a crime. If you are facing criminal charges, let our firm explore all possible defenses and fight to protect your future. We also represent individuals who have been injured by the negligence of another party. Contact the Law Offices of Debra A. Saltz today to discuss your case.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

 
What to Do After a Bus or Train Station Accident in Maryland

There are many people who use public transportation in Maryland every day. The Maryland Transportation Administration (MTA) provides buses and…

Read More
 
What Do I Need to Know About Ignition Interlock Devices in Maryland?

When a person is arrested and charged with a DUI/DWI in Maryland, it is a very serious offense that can…

Read More
 
What are Field Sobriety Tests in Maryland?

When a driver is pulled over by law enforcement for suspected drinking and driving, they may be asked to step…

Read More

We Can Help

Contact Us for Your Initial Case Evaluation