Skip to content

The state of Maryland takes assault charges very seriously and seeks to harshly punish all those found guilty of this crime. Unfortunately, it is not uncommon for those acting in self-defense to be charged with assault because of a misunderstanding, and there are a wide array of other scenarios that may wrongfully saddle a person with assault charges. Our firm is here to defend all those facing criminal charges in Maryland. Read on and contact our Maryland criminal defense attorney to learn more about these charges and how we can help you fight them. Here are some of the questions you may have:

What is second-degree assault in Maryland?

Second-degree assault is defined as when a person attempts to attack a person, or otherwise takes action that leads someone to believe that they are at risk of imminent bodily injury. This means that you do not have to physically strike a person to face second-degree assault charges.

Though the penalties for a second-degree assault conviction are not as harsh as a first-degree assault conviction, they can still land you in jail and have a significant impact on your future. In fact, if you are found guilty of second-degree assault, you will most likely face up to 10 years of incarceration and a potential $2,500 fine. You will also develop a criminal record, which can significantly impact your life for years down the road. With a criminal record, you may find it difficult to get certain jobs, live in certain places, and even take out certain loans. This is why you need a competent attorney on your side for a second-degree assault charge.

What are the consequences of a first-degree assault charge in Maryland?

If you are charged with first-degree assault in Maryland, you can expect to face even harsher penalties. If the court can prove that you committed an act of assault that involved the use of a deadly weapon, or that you had the intention of maiming the alleged victim, you will most likely face first-degree assault charges. Upon conviction for these charges, you can face up to 25 years of incarceration. No matter the charges you’re facing, if you’ve been accused of committing an act of assault, you need an experienced legal team on your side. Our firm is here to help preserve your freedom and your good name.

Contact our experienced Maryland firm

The Law Offices of Debra A. Saltz has decades of experience representing clients in Anne Arundel County and Howard County, Maryland who need legal assistance for criminal defense or personal injury matters. Contact the Law Offices of Debra A. Saltz today to discuss your case.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

 
What Happens if I’m Partially Responsible for a Maryland Car Accident?

Thank goodness, you survived your traffic accident. However, you sustained significant, long-term injuries that will require compensation to treat. Unfortunately,…

Read More
 
What Are the Penalties for Driving Without a License or Driving Suspended or Revoked in Maryland?

A person must have a valid driver’s license to legally drive in Maryland. To operate a motor vehicle either before…

Read More
 
When Do Police Have Probable Cause in Maryland?

In the state of Maryland and elsewhere in the United States, probable cause is the key issue in the arrest…

Read More

We Can Help

Contact Us for Your Initial Case Evaluation