Skip to content

Each Thanksgiving, we gather with our families, enjoy each other’s presence, and reflect on how grateful we are for everything we have. It’s not rare for people to celebrate with a couple of drinks on Thanksgiving, and, especially, Thanksgiving Eve. Unfortunately, more people are charged with DUIs each Thanksgiving and Thanksgiving Eve than on most other days of the year, and if you are one of them, you need an experienced Maryland criminal defense attorney on your side. Our firm can help fight your DUI charges at every turn. Here are some of the questions you may have about DUIs in Maryland:

What happens if I receive a first-offense DWI/DUI in Maryland?

A DUI usually involves situations where you have a BAC of .08% or higher. However, you can still face a DWI charge if you are caught driving impaired by alcohol with a blood alcohol content of .07%. For a first-offense DUI/DWI, you will face the following consequences:

  • 60 days in jail for a DWI or up to one year in jail for a DUI
  • A maximum $500 fine for a DWI or a maximum $1000 file for a DUI
  • 8 points on your driver’s license for a DWI, 12 points for a DUI

Whether or not you take a breath test, you are facing a suspension of your license for anywhere from 90 days to one year. This may be modified by admission in the ignition interlock program.

What happens if I’m convicted of a second DUI in Maryland?

If you are charged with a second DUI in Maryland, courts will most likely now treat you as a repeat offender, which means you will face even harsher penalties. Second-offense DUI penalties in MD are as follows:

  • Maximum two years of incarceration
  • A $2,000 fine
  • 12 points on your driver’s license
  • A potential license suspension
  • Potential ignition interlock device requirement

What happens if I get a third DUI in Maryland?

For a third DUI, you can expect to face the following penalties:

  • Maximum 5 years of incarceration
  • Court-ordered alcohol abuse assessment program
  • A years-long driver’s license suspension
  • A $5,000 fine
  • Ignition interlock device requirement

As you can see, the ramifications of a DUI conviction can drastically impact a person’s life, which is why no one should ever have to face DUI charges on their own. Fortunately, you do not have to. Speak with an experienced Maryland criminal defense attorney at our firm today.

Contact our experienced Maryland firm

The Law Offices of Debra A. Saltz has decades of experience representing clients in Anne Arundel County and Howard County, Maryland who need legal assistance for criminal defense or personal injury matters. Contact the Law Offices of Debra A. Saltz today to discuss your case.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

 
What is Public Intoxication in Maryland?

Public intoxication charges are taken very seriously in the state of Maryland. If you're currently facing them, you must read…

Read More
 
What Are My Legal Options After a Maryland Garbage Truck Accident?

Garbage truck drivers provide Marylanders with an essential service, frequently in the early hours of the morning. They spend most…

Read More
 
Can You Have Your Record Expunged in Maryland?

Few experiences in life are as debilitating as sustaining a conviction for a crime, because having a criminal record can…

Read More

We Can Help

Contact Us for Your Initial Case Evaluation