Skip to content

More commonly known as “Fake ID,” this charge is common among those under 21 years of age who are trying to purchase alcohol. It is also a common charge for people who don’t have valid identification. This may be due to an immigration issue.

Using false identification to acquire alcohol is against the law and can result in serious consequences. Possessing false identification is considered identity fraud in Maryland. It is a misdemeanor. A person can be arrested for using, making, selling, or possessing a false identification card.

In Maryland,penalties for a first offense of possessing false identification may include a $500 fine, incarceration for up to six months in jail, and points on your driver’s license. The points may lead to suspension or revocation of a driving privilege.

A conviction can have a negative impact on one’s future, education, employment, and finances. If a person is a college student, there are possible penalties that may be imposed by the school as well. A college or university can suspend a student from school and any sports, activities, or clubs in which one may be involved. The school could potentially take away any scholarships, remove any honor status, and even expel a student. While this may not affect a student’s criminal record, the student can face challenges with graduating and obtaining financial aid.

A second offense is punishable by a fine of up to $2,000, up to two years in jail, and a driver’s license revocation of up to a year. If found guilty of falsification of identity a second time, it is difficult to pursue a positive future. With a criminal record, gaining employment or entry into secondary education becomes more challenging.

It is very important to understand the repercussions of using, possessing, making, and selling false identification. If you find yourself in such a situation, it is important to find an attorney to provide a strong defense on your behalf. Contact the Law Offices of Debra A. Saltz at 410-346-3577 for a free consultation.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

 
How is a protective order different from a peace order in Maryland?

The state of Maryland takes domestic violence matters very seriously, as these situations happen all too often. Domestic violence can…

Read More
 
Juvenile Crimes in Maryland

People who are under the age of 18 are considered juveniles in the state of Maryland. When minors break the…

Read More
 
Will my social media be monitored after an accident?

When you are injured in an accident that was caused by another person’s negligence, it is likely that you will…

Read More

We Can Help

Contact Us for Your Initial Case Evaluation