There are few things more damaging to a person and their future than being charged with a DUI. Unfortunately, if you are under the age of 21 and have been charged with a DUI, your future is already at stake. Our firm is here to help. Continue reading and reach out to our Annapolis DUI lawyer today to learn more about the consequences of an underage DUI conviction and how our legal team can help you fight those consequences. Here are some of the questions you may have:
What does Maryland’s zero-tolerance policy mean for an underage DUI?
As you may know, in most cases, when someone is arrested for driving while under the influence of alcohol, it means they had a blood alcohol content of .07% or higher. That said, Maryland has a zero-tolerance policy in place for those who are under the age of 21, which means that if someone under the age of 21 is found to have a blood alcohol content of even .02% or higher, they may receive a citation for violating an alcohol restriction or even a DUI/DWI charge. If you find yourself in this situation, you can depend on our legal team to fight for you, every step of the way.
What are the penalties for an underage DUI conviction in MD?
When someone is convicted of an underage DUI, they can expect to face several penalties that may impact them for the rest of their lives. The first thing you should know is that if you are under the age of 18 at the time you receive your DUI, your case will most likely be heard in juvenile court. If you are over the age of 18 when you receive your DUI, your case will be heard in adult court. Just some of the various penalties you may face for an underage DUI conviction in Maryland are as follows:
- A $1,000 fine
- 12 points on your driver’s license
- Up to one year of incarceration
- The potential installation and use of the ignition interlock device in your vehicle for 9 to 12 months
You should note that if you receive a DWI and are under the age of 21, you will most likely face the following penalties:
- Up to 60 days of incarceration
- 8 points on your driver’s license
- A $500 fine
- The potential installation and use of the ignition interlock device in your vehicle for six months
There are additional penalties imposed through the Motor Vehicle Administration as well. If you are facing criminal charges of any kind, simply reach out to our Maryland criminal defense lawyer at once.
Contact our experienced Maryland firm
The Law Offices of Debra A. Saltz has decades of experience representing clients in Anne Arundel County and Howard County, Maryland who need legal assistance for criminal defense or personal injury matters. Contact the Law Offices of Debra A. Saltz today to discuss your case.