A person must have a valid driver’s license to legally drive in Maryland. To operate a motor vehicle either before receiving your driver’s license, or after receiving a driver’s license suspension or revocation, is illegal. If you are one of the many people who have been charged with driving without a license, you need an experienced Maryland criminal defense attorney on your side. Please continue reading, then contact The Law Offices of Debra A. Saltz to learn more about the consequences of these charges and how our legal team can help you fight them. The following are some of the questions you may have:
You can expect to face various penalties if you have not yet received your driver’s license and you are charged with driving without a license. These penalties include the following:
- First offense: You will face up to 60 days of incarceration and a potential fine of up to $500.
- Second offense: You will face up to one year of incarceration and a potential fine of up to $500.
In addition, you can expect to face up to five points on your driving record, which can make it more difficult for you to apply for a driver’s license in the future.
You can expect to face even harsher penalties if you are allegedly caught driving with a suspended or revoked license because it is likely you have already committed at least one serious motor vehicle offense in the past. Common reasons people receive license suspensions include:
- DWI or DUI
- Reckless driving
- Moving violations such as speeding, failing to yield, or failing to stop at a red light or stop sign
- Failure to pay child support
You face a potential sentence of up to one year and fine of up to $1,000 if you are caught driving with a suspended privilege. You will face up to two years of incarceration, a high fine and anywhere between 3 and 12 points on your driving record if you are caught driving with a suspended license for a second time.
You will face additional penalties, including a potential fine of up to $500 and up to two months of incarceration if you did not have your driver’s license seized during your initial suspension and you display it upon being pulled over while driving with a suspended license. You will face up to three years of incarceration and a potential fine of up to $2,500 if you do so for a second time.
Simply give our experienced legal team a call today if you have any further questions.
If you have been charged with a crime or injured by another party’s negligence, contact the Law Offices of Debra A. Saltz today.