Skip to content

If you have a commercial driver’s license (CDL) and face DUI charges, please read on, then contact an experienced Annapolis DUI lawyer to learn what you should know about a commercial driver’s license DUI in Maryland.

What constitutes a commercial driver’s license DUI in Maryland?

The state of Maryland does not tolerate those driving under the influence, especially those who drive for a living. If you hold a CDL in the state of Maryland, the legal Blood Alcohol Content limit is 0.04%, not 0.08%. The law expects higher standards from commercial drivers and so the penalties are harsher.

What penalties do you face for a commercial driver’s license DUI in Maryland?

The penalties for driving under the influence of alcohol will depend on the number of times, if any, you have previously sustained convictions for this offense and whether you refused to submit to a breath test. Either can lead to an escalation in the penalties for commercial drivers. The penalties are as follows:

1st offense commercial driver’s license DUI:

  • Minimum 1-year revocation of your commercial driver’s license
  • Up to 1 year in jail
  • Up to $1,000 in fines

2nd offense commercial driver’s license DUI:

  • Lifetime revocation of your commercial driver’s license
  • 5 days to 2 years in county or municipal jail
  • Up to $2,000 in fines

As you can no doubt see, the penalties for driving while intoxicated with a commercial driver’s license are quite steep. We would be remiss if we did not inform you that hardship or provisional licenses are not available to commercial drivers. Nor would you be eligible for an Ignition Interlock license modification. Since you drive for a living, if you lose your license, you could find yourself unemployed. As such, you should reach out to a skilled Annapolis, Maryland criminal defense lawyer to discuss your next steps.

What can an Annapolis criminal defense attorney do for you?

As we have outlined above, any conviction for driving under the influence of alcohol with a commercial driver’s license can cost you dearly. The state of Maryland is unforgiving, and prosecutors will do everything in their power to punish you. But you may have cause for hope. A qualified legal professional will know if authorities have violated your rights and respond accordingly. If nothing else, our firm will inform you of the strengths and weaknesses of your case. Do not go it alone. Give us a call today.

Contact our experienced Maryland firm

The Law Offices of Debra A. Saltz has decades of experience representing clients in Anne Arundel County and Howard County, Maryland who need legal assistance for criminal defense or personal injury matters. Contact the Law Offices of Debra A. Saltz today to discuss your case.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

 
What Happens if I’m Partially Responsible for a Maryland Car Accident?

Thank goodness, you survived your traffic accident. However, you sustained significant, long-term injuries that will require compensation to treat. Unfortunately,…

Read More
 
What Are the Penalties for Driving Without a License or Driving Suspended or Revoked in Maryland?

A person must have a valid driver’s license to legally drive in Maryland. To operate a motor vehicle either before…

Read More
 
When Do Police Have Probable Cause in Maryland?

In the state of Maryland and elsewhere in the United States, probable cause is the key issue in the arrest…

Read More

We Can Help

Contact Us for Your Initial Case Evaluation