Skip to content

Those who get behind the wheel of a motor vehicle have an obligation to operate it with care. Driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol is illegal in the state of Maryland. Law enforcement and courts within the state take this offense very seriously and fight to hold offenders accountable for their actions by pursuing and issuing certain penalties. Changes made to the law in the past few years have made consequences even harsher for those who drive drunk. Those who have been arrested for a DUI may be asking themselves if they will go to jail should they be convicted in Maryland. Individuals asking themselves that question should retain the services of an experienced Anne Arundel and Howard County DUI lawyer for assistance with their case.

Will you get jail time for a DUI in Maryland?

That would depend on the number of times, if any, you have previously sustained convictions for this or related offenses. Nonetheless, there is a possibility that you will have to serve some time behind bars if you are convicted of a DUI or DWI (Driving While Impaired).

Driving While Impaired (DWI) is charged to drivers who are pulled over with a blood alcohol content (BAC) between 0.07 and 0.08 percent or otherwise impaired. If you find yourself in this situation, you can be subject to the following jail sentences:

  • First offense DWI: Up to 60 days
  • Second offense DWI: Up to 1 year

A person may be charged with Driving Under the Influence (DUI) if they are caught driving with a BAC of 0.08 or higher. Drivers should know that penalties for a DUI are different than those for a DWI. The consequences of being charged with a DUI are more severe. The potential jail sentences are as follows:

  • First offense DUI: Up to 1 year
  • Second offense DUI: Between 5 days and 2 years
  • Third offense DUI: Up to 3 years

Besides a jail sentence, DUI convictions come with substantial fines and a possible suspension or revocation of your driver’s license. This is dependent upon the results of your breath test, or if you refused to take a breath test. In the latter case, even if you do not sustain a conviction, you may still have your license suspended. As such, you should reach out to a skilled Anne Arundel or Howard County criminal defense lawyer to discuss your next steps.

Contact our Firm

The Law Offices of Debra A. Saltz has decades of experience representing clients in Howard County and Anne Arundel County, Maryland who have been charged with a crime. If you are facing criminal charges, let our firm explore all possible defenses and fight to protect your future. We also represent individuals who have been injured by the negligence of another party. Contact the Law Offices of Debra A. Saltz today to discuss your case.

Read Our Latest Blog Posts

 
Avoiding Social Media During the Personal Injury Claims Process

One of the most common mistakes the wrongly injured make is using social media during the claims process. To learn…

Read More
 
Can You Go To Jail for a DUI in Maryland?

Those who get behind the wheel of a motor vehicle have an obligation to operate it with care. Driving while…

Read More
 
How Speeding Contributes to Auto Accidents in Maryland

Speed limits are in place for a reason, and when drivers exceed the speed limit, they endanger themselves and all…

Read More

We Can Help

Contact Us for Your Initial Case Evaluation